Home » news » 2023 Research Showdown Winners Announced

2023 Research Showdown Winners Announced

On March 7, the Office of Undergraduate Research announced the winners of the eighth annual Texas Student Research Showdown at an award ceremony.

Students participating in this research communication competition created two-minute videos to explain their research and creative activity to a general audience. A panel of faculty and staff judges scored the videos on their ability to capture an audience’s attention, tell a narrative, convey rigorous scholarship, and target a general audience. Current undergraduates also voted for an audience award winner.

This year’s event featured 36 videos from 59 students competing in two categories (science, technology, and engineering; arts, humanities, and social sciences). The submitters of the winning videos received awards generously funded by a gift from Kimberly and Scott Martin.

STEM Category

First Place ($1500)
Mandy Tran

Second Place ($500)
Bennett Xu and David Park

Honorable Mention
Fu-Yao Jefferson Yu

Shreyas Satewar, Shravan Ravi, Gary Want

Brian Matibag

Valeria Calucho

Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences Category

First Place ($1500)
Vidhyasai Annem, Breigh Plat, Zia Kinzy

Second Place ($500)
Mckenzie Bentley

Honorable Mention
Ember Beeler

Ruth Befekadu

Ingrid Piña

Angelique Noel Trotter, Abigail Romeo, Kennedy Zapalac

Audience Award ($1000)

Mckenzie Bentley