Home » news » Finalists Announced for the Texas Student Research Showdown

Finalists Announced for the Texas Student Research Showdown

After 1,267 votes and 4,066 video views, the polls are closed for the Texas Student Research Showdown. Six students will move on to the final round, where they will give six-minute research presentations in front of a live audience on Thursday, Nov. 12 at 3:30-4:30 p.m. in the Avaya Auditorium (POB 2.302). A faculty panel will award scholarships for first ($1,500), second ($750), and third ($250) place, based on communication skill and the merit of the research.

The Finalists

Sanjai Bashyam

  • Electrical engineering junior
  • Sanjai’s project is centered on the Innovation Station, a 3D printing vending machine that provides free access to 3D printing to all students and faculty at the University of Texas at Austin.
  • Video: The Innovation Station: A 3D printing vending machine

Julia Chernis

Nicole Gloris

Ryan Ladd

Tarale Murry

Ashley C. Rivera

Honorable Mentions

Chelsea N. Jones

Erica Halpern

  • Design and computer science senior
  • Erica Halpern created Elastic Box, a system for both teachers and students that brings creative problem solving into traditional education.
  • Video: Elastic Box

Front of Texas Student Research Showdown flier