Home » news » Undergraduate Studies Staff Awarded for Excellence

Undergraduate Studies Staff Awarded for Excellence

Several Undergraduate Studies staff members have been awarded for their contributions to the Forty Acres. Congratulations to these outstanding employees for their dedication to the mission of the School of Undergraduate Studies and The University of Texas at Austin.

Civitatis Award

Lori Holleran Steiker

Lori Holleran Steiker, associate dean and director of instruction, engagement, and wellness, has been awarded the Civitatis Award for her outstanding faculty citizenship. Holleran Steiker is a faculty member in the School of Social Work and teaches the Signature Course “Young People and Drugs.” She is also a leading force behind SHIFT, a substance use prevention initiative. SHIFT is a multifaceted initiative that engages the campus community in a conversation about substance misuse.

The Civitatis Award was established in 1997 to recognize outstanding faculty citizenship. It is conferred upon a member of the faculty in recognition of dedicated and meritorious service to the university above and beyond the regular expectations of teaching, research and service. The award is made by the president upon the recommendation of the Faculty Council Executive Committee.

The Cale McDowell Award

Jeff Mayo

The 2020 Cale McDowell Award for Innovation in Undergraduate Studies has been awarded to Jeff Mayo, assistant director of the Transfer-Year Experience Program. Mayo has demonstrated innovation in undergraduate programming through his work to integrate the SHIFT program with Signature Courses. In SHIFT’s inaugural year, Mayo worked with 43 Signature Course faculty to highlight ways the courses could be enhanced with information about substance misuse prevention. Mayo has also worked to expand the Texas Leadership Summit, which convenes students, staff, and faculty from colleges and universities around Texas to tackle the challenges associated with being a transfer student. Earlier this year, the Greater Texas Foundation announced a new $21,966 grant to support the 2020 and 2021 Transfer Student Leadership Summits.

Jeff’s nominator wrote, “Through his insightful leadership, Jeff has directly contributed to meaningful shifts in campus culture, expanding the definition of student success to be more than the academic grades students receive, and to include their entire holistic college experience.”

The purpose of the Cale McDowell Award is to encourage research or innovation that improves the university’s core curriculum. The award is given to a deserving staff member or administrator in the School of Undergraduate Studies, or to any student, faculty, or staff member who improves the undergraduate experience at the university. The recipient of the award receives a $1,000 honorarium. The award was established in February 2010 with gifts from donors, including Inaugural Dean of the School of Undergraduate Studies Paul Woodruff, President William Powers, Jr., and other distinguished members of the university community. Read about past winners of the McDowell Award.

Staff Service Awards

Three Undergraduate Studies staff members have been recognized for their years of service to the university with the 2020 Staff Service Award: Liz Flynn with 15 years of service, Patty Micks with 20 years of service, and Jennifer Morgan with 20 years of service.

The University of Texas at Austin Staff Service Awards Program celebrates the contributions of committed staff who are responsible for transforming lives for the benefit of society. Service awards are presented in recognition of length of service. Staff receive their first service award for ten years of eligible service. Thereafter, service awards are presented in five-year intervals as eligible service accrues.